The Knitterly Hooker

Plan revisited

In knitting, stash busting on August 31, 2014 at 5:16 pm

School has started and work is overwhelming.  The combination is likely to explode like a series of bullets and hand grenades cast off in war. Damn.  I had a plan to incorporate knitting during my school life because it will help my stress levels.  And even though I had a plan here, I don’t know that it’s going to work. And I’m stressed because I can’t find a project and I need one NOW.

You ever have so many projects you can knit, but somehow you never can find something you can knit? That’s how I feel. I’m not saying I can’t knit while I’m in school, because I CAN and WILL… but I need another go at identifying projects. Maybe hats? After I finish my readings, I’ll have a go at Ravelry and stash.  If you have suggestions at the top of your head, I’m open! I need to knit though…SERIOUSLY. Like now.

 

TKH

  1. Pick something simple and repetitive so that you don’t have to worry about reading a pattern. You can’t afford to have your brain in two places and your school work comes first. (says the professor).

  2. check out Robyn Devine, shemakeshats on ravelry – she has some nice simple hat patterns in fairly large yarn, so they knit up fast and are kind of mindless.

  3. Give up driving and take public transportation so you can knit on the bus and train, hahaha! Work, school and knitting big time projects? Make a schedule that allows you a little knitting time each day and stick to it. Don’t try to give yourself a nervous breakdown. Chill out!

  4. Don’t underestimate the power of a simple garter scarf – maybe with stripes if you don’t want the FO to be “boring”. Depending on how many you’ve previously done and how automatic they are, “plain vanilla” hats and socks are also an option!

Leave a Reply

