The Knitterly Hooker

Gumblebee Goodness

In knitting on April 1, 2017 at 5:47 pm

Eat, Sleep, Knit Yarnathon…I’m back at it again! 

This year I’m on team Gumblebee and the hive is amazing! 

One of the projects to earn stars is to make a project that has your team mascot in it. Looking through some of the hives projects, I saw Bumblebee socks. My hive-mate made it in pink and green, so it caught my attention. Of course I messaged them to tell them it was fabulous, but expressed my sadness because I don’t like toe-up socks and I don’t know how to do that.

The response I got was incredible and I’m not sure why I didn’t think of this myself…use a basic top-down sock pattern and insert the chart. Genius, right?! So that’s what I’ll be doing. My yarn is on the way.  

Going through more Bumblebee socks projects, just looking at outcomes, I saw another fabulous pair.  This person ripped theirs back (they didn’t like toe-up socks, I later found out) and their tension was damn near perfect. So of course, I message them and let them know. Messaging them, it turns out, has inspired them to start this project again, top-down….I’m hoping they’ll take me up in my offer to KAL.

For some reason, this KAL got me thinking that socks are basic items that everyone needs, but it’s something that homeless people often don’t get in care packs.  I felt inspired to make socks for some charity for the homeless.  I haven’t sorted the plan or done research yet, but maybe this is something we can do together. 

My first pair of Gumblebee socks, although I want it, will be for my friend who just had surgery.

Join me to KAL…START:April 8

Leave a Reply

