The Knitterly Hooker

Uninspiring Yarn

In knitting, stash busting on May 17, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Under most circumstances, I would agree and say that we purchase yarns that inspire us to create.  And even if we don’t get the opportunity to create immediately after our yarn purchases, when we return to it, those feelings of inspiration return to us. We feel joy.  We feel delighted. We want to make.

I wanted to make…now.  And I chose Farmhouse Yarns Summer Spun.

I cannot say, that this is the case with this yarn.  When I bought Farmhouse Yarns Summer Spun, in those moments I loved it. I thought that I had, and would be, stepping up my knitting experience with this yarn.  I had increased my yarn repertoire, I thought.  I had ideas for it; it was a totally justifiable purchase in my mind.  But it wasn’t.  Here I am a couple years later, ready and anticipating using it and there it is… disappointment and regret rearing their faces.  I absolutely hate this yarn.  Well, maybe not hate, but it’s certainly not what I like to work with.

By now, I think you all know, I am a no fuss kind of gal. I like smooth yarns.  To me, this a pseudo-smooth skein, which I learned the hard way.  Since my intension for 2014 has been focused on depleting my stash account and tending to a more manageable one, I decided to get the Farmhouse Yarns out of hiding.

It was going to be the most fabulous bag, Linen-Linen Project Bag, but it wasn’t. I began this project about a week ago and it was an epic fail! The linen texture was not able to be showcased with the Farmhouse yarn which has a lot of nubbies (or the feel of).  My assessment was that the pattern really requires a smooth yarn which this is just not.

Not sure what to do with this yarn. I’m just  not finding patterns I am pleased with.  I’m just not pleased.

I’m thinking of giving it away, but I’m not sure.

  1. put it up for trade on Ravelry maybe? I’ve never tried that so I’m not sure how it works, but I know it can be done…

  2. I hate when that happens! I hope you find the perfect “one” for your fabulous bag pattern.

  3. I surfed the ravelry page for the yarn, and it looks like it makes very pretty shawls! It could be a great summer wrap instead, showcasing the irregularities rather that having them detract from the pattern.

Leave a Reply

