The Knitterly Hooker

Yarn storage and niddy noddy

In knitting, stash busting on May 11, 2014 at 12:03 am

I’ve decided that my yarn storage (take notice, not the amount of yarn I have) is too much. I don’t like the tupperwares that I have. It’s much too much. I initially thought of buying the vacuum shrink storage bags which I could place under my couch and that would be the end. But then, I wasn’t really feeling that because I can’t find any cute storage bins for underbed/couch.

It dawned on me to use a niddy noddy to reduce the bulk yarn tends to produce when stored. My thought process was to skein up all my stash, dividing them in large ziploc bags by weight and or projects. Perhaps I can then use the vacuum shrink storage bags or maybe it will be small enough to fit in 1 underbed storage container (if I can find a cute one) or put it in my armoire(which I need to store my clothes in, not yarn). But I actually can shrink store the yarn in the large ziplocs and suck out the excess air with a straw. I think that works! It will be a lot of work though, but I feel like skeins are easier to store than cakes or even prewound store bought skeins (you know, the ones with the mammoth insides to get a center pull).

Do you know what a niddy noddy is? It’s a tool used to wind yarns into skeins. It can be used in the dyeing process and also in upcycling old sweaters for yarn.
Niddy Noddy how to make and use videos:

I’m not the best at math but I found this to be a better explanation of how to calculate yardage. Still slightly confused, but I can definitely work something out!

So, later I’ll be off to the hardware store for some PVC and crank these baby’s out. I’m trying to get a cleaner look in my place and think this will help in sorting what I can donate as well.

Any suggestions and comments regarding the yarn storage idea I have would be invaluable. Summarizing my goal: one container/location for my yarn, not several bins.

  1. I TOTALLY agree, I’ve never thought of it that way. Not the yarn stash, but the way it is stored. I’m all on board with this. I have a niddy noddy (PVC) and you don’t have to use a straw. Just put the bag on the floor and put your knees onto it, squashing all of the air out, Now zip the top, Yay!
    Love ya
    Vicki
    Off to compress yarn

Leave a Reply

