The Knitterly Hooker

Knit All The Things

In Uncategorized on August 10, 2014 at 11:13 pm

” I like this one! No, this!” Queued, favorited and put on needles… these are the options.  Oh, the endless choices! This is the perpetual story of my knitting life.

We are drawn to the patterns that speak to the very depths of our souls.  It is no issue to knit them, but the daunting task is just to begin.  There is a journey that must be taken to knit all the things.

I find that my mood influences the decision making in project selection. What could have been good one moment, in a flash can no longer be; the need is different. The timing just has to be right to knit all the things and cannot be forced.

My queued and favorites list grows daily. A million queued projects and I keep adding to it despite knowing consciously or subconsciously that I will never get even half way through it in this lifetime or the next two. Why do we keep doing this to ourselves? It’s like a game we play and always lose.  I know the newness of the patterns keeps us interested and inspired, but, for me, it adds an internal pressure to knit all the things.  “Delete, delete, delete.” I say, but there are elements of the patterns I love and I cannot let go of and I keep on adding.  I love them all!

How do I address the overwhelming feeling I have that paralyzes my progress, when all I want to do is knit all these beautiful things?

I focus on my stash. I focus on projects in my queue that align with what is readily available in my stash. In choosing a project, I have decided to ask myself these questions, because it is not a matter if it is beautiful or not, because they all are.

What can I realistically make right now? Will I get bored?
Will it make me happy? 
Is it my style?
Does it truly tug at my heart strings?

I don’t know about you, but I don’t have all the time in the world, but the time I do have,  I want to spend knitting all the things I love.

Leave a Reply

