The Knitterly Hooker

If I Knit For You

In knitting on August 12, 2014 at 12:49 am

If I knit for you I must love you

On some level, I must.

Romantically or maybe not.

Depends.

But regardless, I.must.love.you

Love is more than a like 

 

Fundamentally

On some level of consciousness I must love you

I work too long and too hard 

Making…Hand-making

Hours upon hours for me not to love you

Knitting until my fingers bleed blood

Red assorted yarn and strings from my fingertips.

 

If I knit for you, it’s a privilege not a right

Let’s be clear

Any demands will be null and void and you get absolutely nothing.

If I knit for you and there is no exchange of that green goblin that runs the world, for what I got…

Then I must love you

If I’ve made you a scarf, a sock or even a hat, I must have loved you.

A sweater

More than likely I haven’t made you one

That’s me giving you my soul

It’s the greatest gift you could ever receive

Up there with my heart

But not easily achieved.

 

In every stitch is a song

A sound so tender and sweet. 

The melody dances to a tranquil place

These days, I knit for myself mainly

I love myself a lot

But I can love you too

There’s room

But, I must love your spirit

I need to see you. 

Deeper than your skin.

Beyond muscles and deeper than neurons

Signaling and transmitting between synapses.

 

I can knit for you

And if I do, it’s because I love you

I must.

 

  1. Nice!

    Sent from Samsung tablet

  2. Couldn’t agree more. I’m sending this link to all my friends….maybe they will finally understand the passion and emotion behind each knitted item they’ve gotten…..simply beautiful!

  3. This poem is beautiful! It made me tear up, the power behind your words. I felt every emotion. Thank you for sharing your passion via written word.

Leave a Reply

