The Knitterly Hooker

Finishing up

In knitting, portfolio, stash busting on March 2, 2014 at 9:38 am

Yesterday, for the first time in many weeks, I picked my needles up. I accomplished nothing major, but it felt good. I felt happy. I felt safe. I worked on my Fall project’s hem. Hem? Yes, I had to create a hem because it curled like crazy.  I had some advice on how to accomplish this and I purled 1 row on the RS and began stockinette stitch, beginning with a purl row on the WS. I continued in this way just about 1 inch and then binded off.

Did I ever mention that the whole sweater is already seamed together? I cannot wait to wear it! Anyway, I am going to buy some ribbon for reinforcement and aesthetic on the edges and major seams of the sweater; most likely the fronts, the shoulders, neck/collar and the pick up row for the skirt.

I have a few short weeks before a friends baby shower and I never started the gift I intended, so I’m going to go with a toy by Susan Anderson instead from her book Topsy-Turvy Inside-Out Knit Toys. I’m pausing on my sweater and work on the toy.

  1. I love knitted toys. They are so cute!!

Leave a Reply

