The Knitterly Hooker

Ravelry Usernames

In designing, knitting on February 16, 2016 at 9:02 pm

Usernames are inherently a representation of us in the cyberworld and create a decided story about who you are even before any interaction.  I can’t say that I’ve been very good at developing usernames, and I think it’s so necessary now, particularly with branding oneself.

After being PinkCashmere1980 for so many years on Ravelry, I’m considering changing it.  It was only a few days ago in a Ravelry group chat, I actually explained the meaning behind my username here.  I discovered that there is actually a way to do it (you only have 3 shots) and I’m thinking about making that transition to theknitterlyhooker.

I feel like it’s super weird, but may be a necessary move. What do you think?  Is Ravelry actually a part of my branding, promotion opportunity? I guess when I begin designing  or whatever else I please, it might be right?

If you had the opportunity to change your Ravelry username would you??

Thoughts?

 

  1. I find usernames super frustrating, because they are branding and so often what you want to be simple and reliable is already gone. There is the option of creating a professional internet identity once you’re ready to move that way. Then email and username on several different platforms would match because you can search to see if they’re already used. I think that’s what people expect from a professional account, but sometimes it isn’t possible. I have changed my username on Ravelry once already, early on. I don’t know that I’ll want to change it again, now that I’ve been who I am for a while. If you’re willing to change, I think creating a single online knitting identity is good.

    • Thank you so much for this extensive feedback! I really appreciate the thought you took to answer the question. This was extremely helpful to me and informed me of things I had never considered or knew about. I think I will change it!

  2. I am Oprah Winfrey on ravelry, and I wouldn’t change it for the world. Good luck with your decision!

  3. I haven’t bothered to change mine, but many many other designers do! Go for it!

Leave a Reply

