The Knitterly Hooker

Oh Dollie: Part 1

In Uncategorized on January 3, 2016 at 6:04 pm

The new year has begun, as has my knitting repertoire. I guess it’s a good time than any to begin new ventures … I’ve now begun making dolls and it was not what I expected. I knew I would like it, but the process has somehow brought me some resolve. I’m pleased to have some control over the racial diversity of the doll, even if it isn’t for anyone in particular.

Above is the progress I’ve made. Using worsted weight, the doll has worked up quicker than I expected. And I especially like the anticipated large size.   This pattern is well written so there really is no room for error except for poor color choices! Ha!

I do see myself making more of them, even after gifting 2 or so to my internship. I hope you all will join me in making this doll as it’s a great way to use up left overs, plus it’s really fun to make!

This new year, I’m taking my stash and creating before buying more yarn, and I’m finishing unfinished projects.

What knitting resolutions did you make? What are you making?

Happy New Year and New You!  

  1. You are just going to love doing this… I promise. They all have different characters. Hair and clothes are the most fun.. xxx

    • I am having fun already!lol Where should I go to get pattern to make clothes? The hair I’m looking to do something different…I need kinky curly hair llike bouclè yarn.

      • Fun to design you own but there are lots on Ravelry or Craftsy and I have a couple of free ones myself up – undies and maternity clothes.

        When I first started I used to untangle double (worsted) wool into three strands to get the volume, cheaply. But yes boucle is brilliant.

        I have quite a lot of info on Pinterest and there is a link on the right hand side of my blog is you are interested.

        Happy knitting…xxx

      • Tried your blog but blog link does not work.

Leave a Reply

