The Knitterly Hooker

Dollie’s destiny

In community challenges, knitting, stash busting on December 9, 2015 at 10:23 am

image

I’m interning right now at an agency where kids who have experienced an array of trauma, including sexual abuse, are being seen for not only forensic interviewing and medicals, but also for mental health treatment.

The agency director asked me to make some culturally reflective dolls of the community of people served.  I was more than happy to, and I found many on Ravelry.  It was  Stitched by Sara, that really helped me make this decision on Little Yarn Dolls, which she had been making herself.

I had questions on the doll to make, Sara was there.  I had questions about to make hair texture suitable and reflective of kinky, curly hair; Sara was there and CeeCee too, who suggested Marmot.  I had questions about the length of time it took to make; Sara was there.  I had questions and ideas about design elements, and you guessed it, Sara was there!

Thanks so much ladies! I’ll hopefully be making a bunch of ’em, but probably in worsted acrylic yarn on 6’s, and working arms and legs, 2 at a time (I have second anything syndrome).

I’ll update you!  If you all want to help, or just make some for yourself, that would be amazing!

 

Ciao,

TKH

  1. I can’t wait to see your finished dolls!

Leave a Reply

