The Knitterly Hooker

Dream In Color Groovy

In knitting, stash busting on February 16, 2015 at 10:46 am

IMG_0725-0

Dream In Color is a dream come true, but that was not my initial impression. I started another hat with it and when I frogged it, the ripped yarn looked worn out. I didn’t like it and I felt uncomfortable casting on and re-casting on for Sand Banks. But when it was all said and done, when the ribbing had formed, the yarn came to life. It was better than a dream. What I love is the subtle tonal striped effects that beautifully formed in the cable. It was an unexpected, yet pleasant surprise. I have 3 more skeins of this yarn; 1 blue and 2 orange. My only regret is that I didn’t buy more as it is, unfortunately, discontinued. I can only hope my Ravelry brethren will be willing to give it up when the call comes. Groovy is a work horse and it’s awesome!

Update: Skeins available here.

  1. I got a very similar striping effect from my madtosh 80/10/10 worsted! I knit my dad a cabled scarf for Christmas and it was awesome.

  2. this hat just looks so rich..I can’t wait to see the finished product. Love the color

    • Thank you! It really is! In a few hours of work I’m sure it will finish soon. Because this is a bulky yarn and the pattern calls for worsted, I’ll probably end up shortening the repeats then do he crown shaping. I’ll definitely post the end project. This is probably a pattern I could repeat…I love it!

Leave a Reply

