The Knitterly Hooker

Next up

In knitting, stash busting on February 9, 2015 at 10:30 pm

I’m pretty excited about this next project I have selected. It includes a cast on I don’t know, but I am excited to learn it. It’s called German twisted cast on. Learning a new cast on is one of my unwritten knitterlutions I made for myself this year and I’m glad it is being achieved so early in the year. After watching a video by Very Pink Knits, I am pretty confident in my ability and besides, when I nail it, it will be my go to for socks, hats and sleeves. The stretch on this is wickedly good!

Check it out!

Sand Bank hat, by Justyna Lorkowska and published by Malabrigo, is what I’ll be making. I got it from VKLive as a free pattern, but apparently there is a cost. At any rate, the pattern seems simple enough. Cables are involved, but to me, they’re no biggie. (Inside scoop: after making a sweater, a cabled scarf was my second project ever when I learned to knit). This hat will not be for me, but for my college friends’ fiancé. My goal is to cast-on on Saturday. I’ll be using Dream In Color Groovy in Romeo Blue. If I like making this hat and have enough yarn left over, I’ll make one for their son.

This was not the original plan for this yarn, but I think it will work beautifully.

IMG_0694

Leave a Reply

