The Knitterly Hooker

VKLIVENYC 2015 recap

In events, knitting on February 1, 2015 at 3:30 pm

There is a saying that is better to be late than never show up at all. So here I am showing up! By now you’ve heard the wonderful stories about VKLIVE5, but I will show you…

The first person I looked for was GG and I found her immediately at the Bagsmith booth.

IMG_0601

I loved these bulletin boards! What an awesome way to track attendees! Look at the diversity across cultures and knitting brings us all together!

IMG_0643

Hearing the CEO’s and actually meeting them made me more willing to renew my subscription. The first thing I noticed was that the packaging changed…sleek and simple. The best news I heard was no more novelty yarn!

IMG_0642

Ute Lennartz tepee was a spectacular art piece and focal point near the entrance of the event.

IMG_0641

The most inspirational pieces of art was the 7 wonders of the world display…all knitted. And even more exciting is that I’ve actually been to two…Stonehenge and Taj Mahal! My bucket list is set! They are as follows from the top left down: Stonehenge,Tower of Pisa, Taj Mahal, Mayan Ruins, Sphinx, Great Wall of China, and Easter Island.

IMG_0640

These artistic socks I actually saw first at Stitches East several years back, then again at Rhinebeck last year. The company? Art for Your Feet, Tsarina of Tsocks. I bought the cowboy sock kit then…this time nothing. Her work is amazing still. I loved Loops spinning fiber…I always have. The colors are so vibrant and always reminds me of pretty sushi! Lol I loved the pigs because hey we’re cute and dressed so nicely! The bottom left picture are Cornielle Tuttle Hamilton’s designs. These are the 2 I wanted patterns for but she wasn’t finished writing them yet so they were not available. The sweater is Ease on Ravelry…I just loved the shape and the pop of color at the inner collar.

IMG_0644

What did I get? Not much actually. My stash continues to grow and my wallet does not, so I curbed my desire for yarn.

IMG_0645

What I really stuck around for was the Reader’s fashion show because my long time Ravelry friend Holly aka The Yarnista was a contestant. I got video footage of the show … Check out my Instagram to see the winner.

  1. It was such a pleasure meeting you. Next time we have to plan and do lunch or dinner. I really want to take a class next time. Did I say I am loving your blog? LOVE!!!

  2. Margaret! I had NO idea you taped the show! Tonight was the first time I actually saw it! I cannot thank you enough for doing this and then posting it here. Somehow, I didn’t see this until just NOW!!!! I hope it is ok with you, but I’ve taken the link and am going to link to my take of VKL on my blog. If this does not meet with your approval, I will remove it. Again, I thank you so much for your effort!

    • Yes I taped the whole thing. It took me almost 5 days to upload. I like that you like the video but I’d like some linkage back to my blog too.

      • Margaret… let’s do it this way. I’ll just link your site with that post to where I want it on my site. It was so exciting to see the show I never got to see! ok, I’ll put the link plan into action! Thanks, Margaret!

Leave a Reply

