The Knitterly Hooker

Purple Rain

In knitting, stash busting on November 12, 2014 at 8:18 pm

image

I’ve had this Cascade Magnum for a few months, from at least the Spring. I’ve been thinking of what I’d make from the day I bought it. I love the richness of the color! So, here I am, some 6 months later, making a cowl. This cowl is the beginnings of my Christmas knitting.

I learned a new cast on for a hat I wanted to make and decided to practice on this. It’s the twisted German cast on and it was pretty simple.  The Twisted German cast on it actually a stretchy cast on and I thought the cowl was a great item to practice on.

I’ll have to seam it.I don’t mind knitting flat anymore. The cowl is being knit on 35’s…Strange and uncomfortable, but doable. I was told it would take an hour to knit….not hardly, or maybe I’m just a slow knitter and enjoying this break I took to knit.

  1. Yes for the big needles and chunky yarn #gobigorgohime that color is sexy! I love Magnum, the sheen is crazy!

  2. I love that color! knitting on big needles takes getting used to, and then it’s quite fast. It’s a bit awkward at first though.

  3. I have a skein of Magnum in a yellow/goldenrod color…. it’s screaming “make me into a Christmas cowl”…

Leave a Reply

