The Knitterly Hooker

Cast on conundrum

In knitting, stash busting on June 18, 2014 at 6:00 am

On 6.13.14, my Admit became a reality. Casting on was challenging. I must have casted on like 7 times; not enough stitches/yarn, too long a tail, too short a tail… The saga continues with long tail.

Eventually I casted on, and round and round I went on 2 circulars (I don’t do nor like magic loop or any other way). Some how and some way, to my dismay, I mismatched my needles (you know, usually it’s ends of needle 1 to needle 1, and ends of needle 2 to needle 2). Next thing I know, a needle is in my lap! What?! So, in a panic, I took out the remaining needle, ripped back and cast on again. Sigh. I managed a few rounds and it was all good so I moved on.

Then on 6.15.14, I went to my favorite yarn shop and continued working on my animal print cowl with yarn I bought from Chelsea Yarns. Now, this is intense because it’s fair-isle. I have a rhythm now and I’m beginning to love the fingering yarn and the fabric it produces, then PLOP… A needle was in my lap. Man oh man! I nearly had a heart attack! I had NO INTENSION of ripping this back so a plan had to be devised and I’m glad it happened in a yarn shop. Hannie saved my life that day. Fair isle + Fingering weight yarn =There was just no way it would be ripped back. So in 2 minutes I was back on track and all was right with the world.

I discovered that my cowl has errors in the placement of color for the animal print. But the way I figured it, animal spots are perfectly imperfect and noone would take notice anyway. Seriously. Even I can’t tell, nor do I care.

T. KH

  1. I don’t use 2 circs, but I was told by someone who does that if you accidentally knit one needle out of it, all you have to do is to knit the next section of stitches onto that loose needle (or, knit back around to the stitches that were on it originally, and knit those back onto it). and no one will notice the animal print issues 🙂

  2. There is such a thing as too much attention to detail! a few “mistakes” just add charm to my mind.

Leave a Reply

