The Knitterly Hooker

My Habu Textiles experience

In events, knitting on June 8, 2014 at 10:12 pm

In May 2014, I visited Habu Textiles…when they had the sale.  I was considering coming here to rant, but there were some good things that overshadowed perceived deficits. I was in the area to get a haircut and decided to stop inside before I did so. I was very curious about the sale. I wasn’t really curious to know where they were relocating to per se, but several people asked and they have no location as of this moment.

image

Habu is a smallish room in a building, not quite what I envisioned. I was thinking of and imagined a smallish boutique essence storefront. I wondered around this smallish room for about 2 hours just looking and feeling. I like the unconventional yarn display and all the notions available. There was a beautiful large black safety pin that I adored, but didn’t get ( though I still may).

There was no one hovering which I loved, and when help was required there was bell I could ring. I did buy yarn and initially was going to have it wound on a cone,but there was a fee for that service. Needless to say, I forgo that option. It was not an exorbitant nor an unreasonable amount or anything; I just didn’t want to pay.

The coolest thing that I loved was that instead of buying the full cone of Linen paper yarn, which is 1lb, I was able to buy ¼ lb of it! Cool right? Habu has, what I would consider novelty yarns, but it is fibers I can envision myself working with.

  1. Sounds really interesting.

Leave a Reply

