The Knitterly Hooker

June…Show It Love

In community challenges, knitting, stash busting on June 4, 2014 at 3:13 am

This is my birthday month! I’ll be 34 on the 12th and I’m definitely looking forward to it! It’s also almost a year since this blog was established! So thank you all for making it happen and allowing it to continue to bloom!

June 1 was the beginning of #DoubleTrelizKal(IG) and Tréliz group on Ravelry. I was invited to participate via Instagram. The selected projects are Francis and Lapis. I’m only doing one…Francis. The way I figured it, there was no time like the present. It is uniquely constructed sideways, with short-rows on the back and garter stitches in the front for texture.  I have read through most project notes and added those notes to my printed pattern.

Francis is unanimously a tricky one, so I thought it best to get this one out the way with the group. It’s been in my queue for a while too. I am afraid to start, but I will. It calls for Shibui Heichi. I’d prefer to go yarn shopping in my stash first, but if I cannot find something, I’ll buy Heichi in Hydrant, a beautifully bold persimmon color.  I initially intended to use Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece in an ivory color, but decided on Patons Bamboo Silk in my stash in apricot color. A sample of Patons Bamboo Silk is being sent to me by a fellow Raveller (because I’m short a few yards) so I can do the gauge and decide whether or not to buy more.

Wish me luck and tell me what you think about these yarn choices.

T.KH

  1. Hey, happy birthday to you! I also am a June baby – I’ll be 55 on the 9th.

    Don’t know ANY of the yarn you mention by name, but I am going to check out the patterns, they sound interesting. 🙂

  2. My mom is the 30th June. Birthdays excite me. Hope you enjoy it. The pattern is gorgeous! Can’t wait to see your progress

Leave a Reply

