The Knitterly Hooker

Ten inches, ten facts

In designing, knitting, portfolio, stash busting on May 27, 2014 at 6:15 am

I made some head way and the first portion of my design, lovelies, is complete! Ten solid inches of a brainless fair-isle pattern; so simple and so perfect. I absolutely love it and feel like I am on that road to having my dream realized!

Although I’m not yet ready to reveal my design, at least not yet (though, a clue is on my Instagram page) , I am ready to share with you some fun facts about it! Is that cool?

1. Technique that is needed is kitchener in the round. I found this video and it.is.amazing!

2. Because there are fair-isle elements, I suggest these yarn bobbins I absolutely love them. I found these tools too late in my toolbox and I have a lot of ends to weave in. I have the small bobbins, but soon enough I’ll buy the larger ones.

3. Fair-isle requires weaving in ends because you constantly out of colors and I found a few videos to be super helpful to me.

4. There are stripes in this piece and I hate jogs. There are several great videos on YouTube.

5. I suggest aran weight or dk weight yarn for this project.

6. If I had to do this project again, I would maybe use a natural fiber yarn. I am not knocking what I am using though, Caron Simply Soft is really nice!

7. The item being designed is trendy(at least I think so) .

8. The item being designed will definitely require blocking to flatten out the stitches some.

9. In truth, I was afraid I was going to have to pay someone to finish my designed item if I didn’t find the kitchener in the round video.

10. This design begins with a provisional cast on.

  1. Looking forward to your big reveal!

  2. Now you are teasing. It does sound amazing though….

Leave a Reply

