The Knitterly Hooker

Sew Perfect

In designing, knitting, sewing on May 4, 2014 at 7:59 am

I was just wondering to myself how to improve my sewing and better incorporate it in my knitting. I thought about my fall sweater Hettie, and the ribbon I placed on the buttonbands. I thought about this because although I love my sweater, I didn’t 100% love how I sewed on the ribbon trimming on the buttonbands. Because I love the aesthetic of the ribbon and I know I’ll be using it again, I wanted to know how to do it better. Behold the miracle of the internet and I found this blog with very clear instructions with very professional looking results. What I would do differently from this blogger/sewer extraordinaire did though, is probably put the ribbon on the wrong side of the button band instead of the right side, although I have seen sweaters withe ribbon the way demonstrated. I also found this great video tutorial.

I hope that you will consider this finishing touches on your handmade knits. Enjoy!

  1. Just in the knick of time! This week, I’ll be adding ribbon to a baby cardigan. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

