The Knitterly Hooker

Lend me your mind

In knitting, stash busting on April 30, 2014 at 6:52 pm

I need help. You all are smart folks and I know you can do it. This is gauge related, yarn substitution related and about choosing a size based on those factors. I’m trying to stash bust and want to make a cute top.

Sooooooo:

image

I’m making “coco” from Rowan Studio using DK 52% cotton 48% acrylic blend (Filatura Lanarota Cool Cotton), which is not the yarn called for.

Please reference the above photo for the numbers I’m referring to. This is the math I did. Notice I haven’t put an annotation as to what follows the equal sign …that is to say, is that stitches or inches that I have calculated?

If I was using their gauge, I would probably be making the size 36″ bust (20) since my bust is 35.5″. Using my gauge, I would more than likely have to follow instructions for either the size 40″ bust (19.5) or 42″ bust (20.5) but I’m not sure which size to make.

Initially I was going to go with the size 42″ bust (20.5), because I figured it wasn’t too off from the original size 36″ bust (20), but then I got to thinking that this is cotton so it will stretch some. Then, I thought about it some more and think that maybe I need to go down to the size 40″ bust (19.5).

Based on these numbers, what size do you think I should make?
Thanks in advance for your help!

  1. go with the bust measurement that fits you. It’s better to be baggier in other spots than to be tight across the bust. you can try to adjust (by adding decreases/increases) the other measurements if you like….this is actually what that class I took on Craftsy was all about…it’s a good class if you’re interested…

  2. 10 cm = 3.94 inches. 24 st over 10 cm = approximately 6 sts per inch. If your bust measurement is 35.5 inches, then you need a minimum of 213 stitches around the bust.

    What is the recommended gauge in the pattern? with that I should be able to figure out which size it should correspond to

  3. ok, if the pattern gauge is 21 st over 10 cm, that’s the same as 5.33 st per inch. You need 213 stitches. At the pattern gauge, 213 stitches would be 39.96 inches. So you should make the pattern in the 40 inch bust size at a minimum, for a fitted bust. If you want a little more room, do it at the 42 inch bust size. πŸ™‚

  4. Try it with easier numbers and you’ll see what I did. pretend you wanted to make a 4 inch wide something or the other.

    in your gauge, that would be 24 stitches across (6 stitches per inch * 4 inches).

    in the pattern gauge, if you knit 24 stitches across, it would end up being 4.5 inches wide (24 stitches / 5.33 stitches per inch).

    So if you knit a pattern that was written to be 4.5 inches wide (24 stitches across), yours would turn out to actually be 4 inches wide because of your smaller gauge.

    What I did for the sweater was the same calculation, just using your bust measurements instead.

  5. Knitterly hooker has it right – just don’t forget about ease when you do the calculation. Unless you want it snug, you should figure in some ease. And yes, the cotton will stretch some, but not until you wear it. So you want to be able to do that. πŸ™‚

    But if you suspend your rational mind and just blindly follow what she said to do, it will come out right. If you figure out that you need 200 stitches to get to the measurement you want, then just look on the pattern and see which size says to cast on that number, or as close to it as possible. Make that size.

    • Oh, the credit goes to Stitches ‘n’ Scraps! She worked those numbers.

      • lol thanks πŸ™‚ I agree with salpal too – the 40″ bust pattern instructions should work out to fit you, but it will fit you snuggly with no ease. If it was me I’d follow the 42″: pattern, because I like a little more room in my clothes, particularly in the bust.

      • The top is,in all actuality, slim fitting and skims the body. Back to the original size 42 I was thinking of….I think that is better! And I do think it was interesting that we came up with sizes 40 and 42 as the options… Even if our math was differentπŸ™Œ

      • your math was probably right, I just couldn’t make out from your notes what you had done πŸ™‚ There’s usually at least 2 dozen different ways to do any one calculation.

      • it’s funny how these are the two sizes you had come up with originally as well!

      • Sorry, that is what I meant – I should have looked more closely at the conversation thread. It seems overwhelming when you look at a whole pattern and all the numbers. But if you just keep it simple – how does your gauge match to the pattern? and go from there, it isn’t so bad.

      • No worries! It’s not that deep!πŸ˜‹ Thanks! I’m getting ready to jump in,head first, into this top!

      • Can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

