The Knitterly Hooker

Shibui

In events on April 14, 2014 at 1:29 pm

image

Nothing could deter me from the Shibui yarn tasting at La Casita Yarn Shop Cafe on April 13, 2014. Unfortunately, space was limited for this event; I was ecstatic that I made the cut! And it was the perfect weather for the occasion and I had to celebrate! I donned my finished Hettie, for which I received several compliments on not only the fit, but also the finishing.

When I first entered the shop, the orange immediately grabbed my attention. I love orange, particularly with such rich,vibrant tones as displayed on the tasting tables. Serious eye candy!

image

Admittedly, I don’t know much about this company but what I do know, is that it is a quality product. The hand and drape are exquisite. I was introduced to this yarn first with an adult “arts and crafts” project. It got me really familiar with the textures and beginnings of Shibui.

Shibui is derived from a Japanese phrase meaning “elegance with a touch of bitterness.” It’s founder is based out of Portland, Oregon. I was most impressed with was that almost all the weights/fibers come in the same colorways that can be combined beautifully with each other.

image

Going through the portfolio of patterns available, I was most impressed. I couldn’t decide on which to make. This booklet outlined combinations of yarns and weight equivalents and Shibui collection of patterns. Almost all the patterns require the yarn to be doubled which the jury is not out for me on how I feel about that.

image

However, I eventually decided on Mix No. 15 tank top. Then the color, I chose Poppy, an orange red. Of course I am alluding to the fact that I bought yarn and the pattern! Diet failed! My justification is that it’s for my birthday, which is technically true. My birthday is in June….I couldn’t help myself! Lol I bought 5 skeins of Linen. I’m not going to lie, the only thing I’m not feeling about the linen yarn is that you have to put a knot on the ends because when tinking, it could become undone. My goal is to have the tank completed for/in the summer.

I returned home with knowledge about Shibui, an appreciation for fine yarn and a few mini skeins, as well as print outs of a few free patterns. I’m not really sure what to make with the mini samples, but I was thinking amigurumi. I have about a yard (36″) per skein. Any ideas?

image

  1. Happy early birthday!

  2. Ooh this looks like so much fun!

  3. What a super display idea – yumminess of a cupcake shop…but not a calorie in sight!

Leave a Reply

