The Knitterly Hooker

Makers, unite

In community challenges, crochet, knitting on March 13, 2014 at 10:18 pm

My last post brought up some interesting comments and stirred up some thoughts.

As makers we often create for others and seldom for ourselves. But often times the people we make for are under the impression that we’re always making for our individual ourselves.The problem is we don’t… At least not enough of us do.

But what’s troubling too is that while we’re quick to make non-creators things as birthday gifts or just because gifts, we never think of making gifts for our maker friends. Yes, a skein of luxury yarn is nice. Yes, that fancy and too cute project bag is nice. (And I do know that we would still take those happily because you can never have enough! Lol) But I think that this logic is so sad. I guess we feel like we can make it for our individual selves and we’ll get to it… Eventually. Which really means never. Why do we have to wait until eventually?

I would like to encourage a maker exchange program here…online via my blog as a forum or Ravelry. Making a gift for someone in secret and presenting it at the end of the year. Like a secret Santa type of thing. The details of the swappage we can work out later. The guidelines we’ll do later.

How many of you are in? Thoughts?

  1. Awesome! I’m in!!!! need guidelines – max price / weight? Also need to figure out what to do as far as sizes and fibers that could have allergy / sensitivity issues. Maybe everyone can send you any such info privately, and then you can randomly assign people someone to give a gift to? also need to watch locations so we don’t end up with international shipping issues. Maybe separate secret santa groups for different countries or regions…

  2. Love it! I am in. Out of the 5 projects I have made recently no of them have been for me :(. I hope to start a sweater just for me in a few weeks.

  3. cool idea! I’m definitely interested in learning more.

  4. […] gotten some great responses from you all for the Makers, Unite […]

  5. Great Idea!

  6. […] call for those who may be interested in Making for Makers, discussed here. Β The deadline to private message me on Ravelry with your email and to complete the entry form on […]

  7. […] to get a package yesterday, because I knew what it would be. Way back in June, I told you about the Making for Makers “secret Santa” group that I was joining. Well yesterday, I got my package from my […]

  8. […] to get a package yesterday, because I knew what it would be. Way back in June, I told you about the Making for Makers “secret Santa” group that I was joining. Well yesterday, I got my package from my […]

  9. […] idea for this initiative was realized in this blog […]

Leave a Reply

