The Knitterly Hooker

Today’s post isn’t a pattern: how to price your work

In Uncategorized on January 31, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Yes! This is how to price your work.

UK Crochet Patterns

We saw this on Nadine’s blog and thought we’d re-post as it’s a subject that’s often hard to work out: how to price your work.

Nadine’s post is here.

The calculator is here.

Obviously, you’re going to charge whatever you feel comfortable charging, but if, like us when we started out, you don’t have a clue about what you should charge, this calculator will be a big help. You will doubtless be charging far too little and feeling guilty about even that – we were!

View original post

  1. What did you think of the tool. I just made my professor a cowl and they said I could charge 33 dollars for it. I thought it was a bit steep but I don’t think I could figure it out for myself without the calculator.

    • You think $33 is steep????????? What?! Girl,$33 is a steal of a deal. You get to choose how much % profit you want. I know the original post talks about rating YOURSELF novice etc, but I use that for the difficulty of the project.

  2. You think it isn’t? I think maybe because it is probably the 4th crocheted cowl I have made and I am just coming off all of the Christmas crocheting I am desensitized to the whole process. This cowl was extra messy because the yarn decided to tangle and I had to cut the yarn three times and add yarn to it. Lots of weaving-in and securing stitches. That was frustrating but I would have maybe charged 15-20 bucks for it? I don’t know. I am grateful for the calculator and it really makes me think about writing about the value of crafted items…..There is so much invested in the process.

Leave a Reply

