The Knitterly Hooker

VKL NYC 2014

In community challenges, crochet, events, knitting on January 23, 2014 at 12:56 am

image

Vogue Knitting Live NYC was this past weekend- January 17-19. It was all that I expected… Crowded and intriguing. There was do much creativity in the atmosphere I did not know what to do with myself! Everyone was spending and spending….I humbly watched.

There was yarn galore. Every year I promise myself I will save enough to indulge but I fail. In any event, I only bought a few things. Firstly, I bought buttons and somehow I was trapped in this vintage button booth for a while. The beauty and uniqueness of these necessary pieces consumed me…deeply. Next, I bought 2 natural baby lotion stick thingies for 2 pregnant friends of mine. Lastly, I bought the Bergere De France pattern book I blogged about here. Please don’t judge me…I went tab crazy!lol

image

I was even able to meet the owner of Loopy Mango. She was so gracious and allowed me to photograph her knitting with the super, super chunky yarns and tag her on Instagram.

image

The day was also topped by meeting author Susan B. Anderson…She was so pleasant and fun! I actually messaged her on Ravelry regarding a question to one of her patterns early last year. Had I known she was going to be at this event I would have brought it to be autographed.

Another highlight for me was the crocheted giant doilies, positioned as giant webs. I interpreted that the webs catch our creative fears and expose that there are no boundaries on how far we can go if we push ourselves and break free. These pieces really spoke to me…Absolutely stunning! A couple sayings this reminds me of…”Fences are for those who don’t climb over.” and one from my mother, “Good, better, best. Never let it rest. ‘Til your good becomes better and your better becomes your best.”

image

So with that, I’m again challenging and pushing myself to do a little more crochet and more designing (that is to say,finish the current one, publish and on to the next).
A big hit last year and again this year is amirigumi, both crocheted and knitted.

image
I feel like you have to see them in person to appreciate it!

What I learned (and keep seeming to forget) this year, after being surrounded with beautiful things I want, again, is that my mainly yarn (sometimes button) habit should only be supported at major events; mainly VKL NYC, Rhinebeck, Stitches East, and Black Friday sale at Eat, Sleep, Knit.

So, from hence forth, no more yarn shopping. Seriously. I’m dieting until May 2014. Who’s in?

  1. I’m in if I can modify that to say no stash yarn buying….i’ll probably need to buy some yarn for specific projects along the way so as long as that doesn’t count….I’m in!

  2. Tab crazy?? Yikes!! I guess that you liked most of what you saw, hahaha! You are going to be VERY busy this 2014. What yarn event is happening in May 2014, Maryland Sheep and Wool?

Leave a Reply

