The Knitterly Hooker

Cold, collar and contagion

In knitting, stash busting on January 3, 2014 at 9:36 pm

It’s the 3rd day in the new year and the north east has been inundated with snow. From what I can tell, (of course, from my window because I surely was not going outside) we have between 6″-10″ and it’s 10 degrees. It is freezing and for once, I’m glad to be in my bed!

On this day, I woke up feeling sick; sneezing and congested, later on with a headache. Most certainly an uncomfortable feeling. So most of the day I’ve been in and out of sleep and re-watching episodes of Fringe. Despite not feeling well, I have enjoyed this time just resting.

My plan for today, prior to this contagion (well, not quite) was to work on Hettie’s collar. So sick or not, that is exactly what I did. I managed to pick up the stitches and almost completed the collar…and it didn’t take as long as I thought. Admittedly, I had a problem with the picking up stitches instructions; it was my own problem in over thinking this simple task. I always do this with simple projects and I’m not sure why…I never have this problem with more complex patterns.

image

I’m re-thinking the yarn selection (it’s not like I’m changing it anyway) as this reminds me of mohair because it sheds some. I think I would have preferred a smoother yarn like Cascade 220. Oh well. This is still a great sweater and I can’t wait to wear it!

  1. I hope you feel better soon! My household is also feeling the effects of a nasty head cold. Our weather is the same ’round these parts since we’re only about 50 miles from “The City.” It’s a perfect day to spend snuggled up with some knitting and a cup of tea! Can’t wait to see your sweater once it’s finished!

  2. Hope your day of rest means you feel better today. Xx

Leave a Reply

