The Knitterly Hooker

Hettie revisited

In knitting, stash busting on January 1, 2014 at 7:08 pm

After part of my thumb was chopped off in October 2013 I felt some despair and my knitting came to a halt momentarily. I was working on my Fall project at the time of this incident.

The pain dissipated; my thumb healed and the knitting resumed. I knit the 2 sleeves together and I blocked all the pieces. And though the pieces had been blocked, I did not touch Hettie after that as I said I would here.

I think it just reminded me of the anguish I felt during the second week into the third of October. Many bad things happened consecutively… I thought I was ready in November, but maybe I lied to myself.

I’ve gotten over most of those events and on 12.31.13, I decided to resume my Fall project, Hettie. I rather quickly seamed the fronts to the back at the shoulder and side. It took about 2 hours to seam 1 sleeve…. I know, I know, but I’m meticulous like that.

So here’s my Hettie thus far, all in a days work…

image

image

image

image

Of course you know I tried it on and it’s a good fit!

The next steps? Well, I have a serious yarn shortage ( I only have 4 skeins and some left…approximately 440 yards) and you know ribbing eats yardage like nobody’s business… Soooo, I need to work quickly in doing the ribbing for the fronts first, then the skirt and of course seam the left sleeve so I can guesstimate how much more yarn to purchase.

  1. Looking awesome!

  2. Yay. I’ve a feeling you have banished those demons for good. X

Leave a Reply

