The Knitterly Hooker

Heart attack

In community challenges, finished projects, knitting, portfolio, stash busting on December 8, 2013 at 12:40 am

Situation #1

OMG! Let me telllllll you all how I almost passed out today! My heart was palpitating so much, you don’t even know!

So I’m rocking my new cowl (I know, I know…I’ll post about it soon, it’s drafted up but needs editting, but I will give a picture now so you can admire the beauty!) for the past week because its super cute. I decided to wear it shopping with one of college girlfriends today and show off my handywork.

image

We’re at the mall, having a great time, trying on clothes and whatnot and I touch my neck realizing it was BARE! Where is my cowl?! Panic struck and I was angry. Why? Because 1.it’s brand spanking new and I made it. 2.it’s brand spanking new and I made it and its mine 3. it’s brand spanking new and I made it and it’s mine….I’m sensing you get the point! Seriously though, I was mad at myself for being so careless and absent minded about it. And of course I’m feeling some kind of way about it because its the first thing I’ve made and kept for myself in a long time. And I was mad that maybe someone stole it(so I was watching everyone’s neck within my line of vision ready to pounce!) I don’t know, it felt like (I can only imagine) when parents lose their children and are desperately searching to find them. My heart was in my throat! So after retracing our steps, thankfully, my cowl was found! I was relieved! I must say, I had admitted defeat before finding my cowl and had already resolved to just remake it with the remaining 1.5 skeins left which meant I would have no mittens.

No doubt that immediately upon its rescue, it was around my neck and there it remained until I came home. Believe that!

Situation #2

Upon returning home,with my beautiful cowl, wrapped tightly around my neck…I unwinded for the evening and went to Ravelry. I’m looking to make someone a hat and I wanted a pattern, but before I even did the search, I went to Friends of Fable Fibers group. Why? Because earlier in the week I inquired as to who won the FFKAL prize. So I went to the thread and don’t you know it that every single last person who participated in it won a skein?! OMG! I almost passed out! I am so thrilled and humbled right now! That was so unexpected and I am just really grateful! I emailed Lelah my address so probably in a week or so it will be at my home? In any case it’s just in time for Christmas. I’ll probably wait for Christmas to open it because I think (read:I know) it’s the only gift I will have. Seriously. So yeah, I’m really happy!

  1. 1) fantastic that you found it – that would have been heartbreaking if it was gone!
    2) that’s so awesome about the KAL prize! what a generous host!

Leave a Reply

