The Knitterly Hooker

KAL beginnings and things

In community challenges, stash busting on November 2, 2013 at 12:18 am

image

November 1 marked the beginning of Fable Fibers November KAL. I started at work during lunch and when I got home, the Portuguese knitting busted out a good 4 inches! I’m working on my Barbara cowl first because it will require more yarn. The width on the cowl seems a bit small but I’m not sure. I’ll be doubling it over itself around my neck like an infinity cowl so I think it will be alright. What do you think?

About the pattern: Barbara cowl is so simple you can do it in your sleep (but I’d rather not). It was late when I was working on it and began sleepy head bucking/nodding so I put it down. I find that when I knit sleepy that my project becomes riddled with errors. (It’s the same for blogging sleepy…please forgive any errors). That’s so annoying to rip back.

About the yarn: It’s Fable Fibers DK Superwash Merino Biography in Chloe. I.love.this.yarn. Oh my goodness! This has made me a believer in variegated yarn! It works up beautifully, all without pooling and flashing. It’s also scrumptiously soft. The stitch definition is incredible! Of course I instagramed my progress and Lelah loved it. I’m not much a fan of lighter weight yarn and I asked if chunky would be available and she said yes! Woot woot! I can’t wait!

It’s not too late to join!

  1. How does Portuguese knitting compare to the way you knitted before?

    • I love it! I do a hybrid of my regular style and this because I’m still working on the kinks of increasing and decreasing. I think it’s faster, neater, has more even tension, efficient, purling isn’t a chore anymore and it has a great rhythm.

  2. When you’re ready I can teach you what I know.

  3. I love semi-solids that have the perfect amount of variegation!!

  4. How do you join?

Leave a Reply

