The Knitterly Hooker

Bad dyelot?

In community challenges, knitting, portfolio on November 2, 2013 at 11:59 pm

image

I’m thrilled to have received yarn for the Bespoken testing. I actually got it Wednesday evening but I’ve been extremely busy since I returned to work.

My yarn shipment came with a crumpled packaging slip because it was crammed into my smallish mailbox. Normally I wouldn’t give a care about a packaging skip, but rather, just rejoice that I received mail which was not a bill. But I was curious, and this is what my curiosity revealed:

image

What is “bad dyelot”? What did this poor color do? It wasn’t popular enough, maybe? Why even put a label on the unfortunate circumstance that this color has found itself? I love this rusty, reddish brown color! I may order more for Pine before WEBS runs out.

I have a confession to make though… I’ve never used Cascade 220 before! I know, I know! It’s supposed to be every knitters fall back, staple yarn. I can’t even explain why it has never touched my stash until now. But if I like it, I’ll keep it as a permanent resident in my stash. It’s at a great price point.

Tell me if Cascade 220 is your staple yarn and why. What’s your experience with it?

  1. How odd! I think you need to treat it with extra love;)

  2. I’ve never used Cascade 220, but I agree with you: it seems like every other knitter uses it all the time!

  3. I think Cascade 220 is kindof the oatmeal of sweater wools. It’s pretty smooth and non-itchy, standard good worsted weight wool. I find that I like a little more fuzzy coziness, but those yarns are less good for cables!

  4. Just because YOU mentioned Cascade 220 I thought I’d order a couple of skeins to check it out. Like I would know the difference anyway, hahaha!

Leave a Reply

