The Knitterly Hooker

Sock commission question

In Uncategorized on October 18, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Quickly, do you think that $40 is an unreasonable amount to pay someone to make socks (and they’ve never made socks before) and I’m providing the yarn and the pattern?

Please share your thoughts. Your input is invaluable. Thanks in advance.

  1. I feel like there are two camps to this commission debate. One side says that it’s skilled work and you should be paid by the hour, and the other side says that they’d be knitting anyway so they’re getting paid for their leisure activity. (these sides may correspond to product vs process knitters.) It takes me about 20 hours to make a pair of socks, but I don’t do commissioned work so I may not be the best person to ask.

    • But the person is not skilled at knitting socks. They gave vast experience in sweater making but not socks. I understand that argument for skill and hours, and but geesh if you don’t have the knowledge I don’t know that you should be charging like you do.

  2. If you think it’s too much, forget it. You might pay the $40 and then be disappointed with the finished product. Then what? Are you asking someone else to knit the socks because of your thumb?

  3. If you are questioning it then i guess that you feel it is too much – I would do it for free but would take longer. (i also have no sock experience!)

    • It sounds steep but if the socks are long and intricate trust me it’s worth much more 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m on the cusp…like I’m not opposed to the $40 because if I were making or selling it,it may be that plus some. I think I’m more opposed to lack of sock making experience and to then charge that price. I’ve worked with this person once before, last year (or year before that) when I had to have surgery on the same, currently injured right hand. It just took me aback that she has so much knitting experience but hadn’t made socks.I think that’s a bit strange. I’m conflicted about it.

  4. It would depend on the pattern….simple tube socks, maybe not…more complicated lacey socks, maybe…if your feet are cold and your hands are hurt, why not just buy some store bought socks until you can knit more yourself?

  5. I think $40 is way too low a price to pay for a pair of handknit socks. It can take between 8 and 30 hours to knit a pair of socks, so even in the best-case scenario you’re paying them $5 per hour of their valuable time (if they’re knitting to support themselves, knitting stops being a leisure activity) and skilled labor (if they are skilled enough to knit sweaters, they are skilled enough to knit socks).

    You might want to check online to see how much other people are charging for a pair of handknit socks. Most people don’t sell handknit socks (except specialty socks – the best Kilt Hose are generally handknit) because, to earn a living wage, you would have to charge way more than any reasonable person would want to pay for a pair of socks.

    • The person told me they have never made socks before. I think that despite her skill level in sweater making, turning the heel is tricky. Turning a heel could take anyone out. Socks and sweaters are two different beasts. I think I would feel more comfortable paying the money if she had experience in sock making and I feel like you shouldn’t be so brazen to charge that price for the very same reason. I knit and of course I know and can appreciate the time spent, but I don’t know about it. The funniest thing with socks are that they’re one of the smallest, portable accessories but take the most time to make!lol I’m sure you’re right with the mathematics of it though.

  6. I guess the only judge of reasonability should be the knitter? If she’s competent at other patterns I can’t see a simple sock being that much of a challenge. The bigger factor for me would be the speed.

Leave a Reply

