The Knitterly Hooker

Inspired

In knitting on October 16, 2013 at 4:56 am

image

Photos courtesy of Fiber Factor 2013, Challenge 5 Judging video (my screenshots). “Nacht” by Jodie Gordan Lucas

At 4 am or thereabouts, I was up. Awakened by a throbbing thumb, sooner, rather than later, the pain was dulled by some ibuprofen. I had fallen asleep with my Knitting Pattern Essentials book beside me and when I awoke, design was on my mind. I had nothing to do so I went to YouTube and watched Fiber Factor. I am truly inspired by these folks, they push creativities boundaries…to places I would not have ever imagined.

When I saw Jodie’s piece, I was immediately drawn to it and compelled to sketch my own idea based of hers. Because I cannot do any better, I do not like to criticize other people’s work nor am I going to. With that being said, the front is not flattering for my shape or my style, so I’m still brainstorming a more conducive closure.

I love the color combination. I love the ombre effect. I love the texture. I love the stripes. I love the oversized couture hood. I love the swirly design. To me, this is fabulous! It’s unique and I would totally wear this (minus what I’ve described that’s not complimentary for me)!

I’m not sure if and when my idea will come to fruition, only time will tell. I guess I’ll have to start somewhere. I guess my real hold up (besides my thumb issue) is yarn…the expense, that is. But I imagine I could use various scrap yarn to practice certain elements and then write out a pattern, no?

Leave a Reply

