The Knitterly Hooker

Fall project

In knitting on September 7, 2013 at 12:33 am

image

In speaking with my cousin’s fiance,a non-yarny person, the light bulb clicked on and my fall sweater was identified… And it couldn’t be simpler; it’s Directional Rib from Knit and Crochet Now! show (on PBS, it’s back!).

As I spoke with her about yarn and different weights, my stash flashed across my eyes and … BOOM… Patons Soy Wool! It’s in my stash (in abundant quantities -1100yds). It’s aran weight and the gauge on 9’s are 17s x 21r. I actually forgot about this yarn! Take a look (just a note, this yarn is discontinued).
image

Clockwise from top left: 1100 yds, 770 yds, 300 yds, and 880 yds.

So, I thought to myself, I can use this! It’s a little heavier than required by the pattern, but I think I can use it.

However, when I checked the yardage I was really short…by a lot (660 yds). And I was also really disappointed. So, although I want this to be my project, it can’t be. If I could buy more yarn it probably could be, but that’s not an option. Unless I make the smallest size or a couple sizes down from the one I was planning on making? The gauge this sweater requires is 22s x 26r in 2×2 unstretched rib on a size 7.

My next choice is Tilted Duster but again, I was short in yardage, but not really a lot (118 yds). I figured for this I could just maybe shorten the skirt and maybe the sleeves or modifying one or the other? That way I wouldn’t have to purchase more yarn. The gauge on this is 17s x 21r on 10’s. What do think about this logic?

I also absolutely love Turkana that I’ll probably treat myself to for Christmas or thereabouts. I was thinking if I didn’t wait until then and use the Soy Wool, I could make it is the smallest size,no? The weight yarn required for Turkana is fingering…Alot of fingering (2450 yds). This piece is supposed to be drapey. Will my aran weight yarn take that away i.e. yardage needed? Will my yardage be enough?

I was even contemplating the Granny Hoodie, but because my yardage is so limited, I think it would be best suited to knitting with. It is in my queue though.

My final choice? I don’t know. I think the best place to start will be a gauge swatch. Or check Ravelry some more; my library, my queue and free patterns. I think if anything, I will go with The Tilted Duster. The gauge is already there and the modifications are (should be) simple enough.

Yes, I think that Tilted Duster is it.

Do you have any suggestions that wouldn’t require all this drama? Something with stripes?

NEVER posted before by me or any blogger (as far as I know)…I have braved posting my measurements so you see what I’m working with.
imageNote:Hips not that big..it’s 41.”

  1. […] let me know what ideas you have.  I was thinking about Turkana…I’m nervous about spending so much on yarn, but this would be a nice that and a good […]

Leave a Reply

