The Knitterly Hooker

A mindless knit

In knitting on September 6, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Usually when I am stressed or need to unplug I knit.  That’s what I do.  I need to knit but when I started knitting it wasn’t working. Too many errors…too much ripping back…Too much of everything!

I was trying to knit a fair-isle rectangle for my cousins blanket. I don’t know what made me think that when I’m stressed I should be making fair-isle stuff any ole how! Other than this fair-isle rectangle, it hadn’t occurred to me for past week or so I’ve been struggling with it, that perhaps I need not pursue this course any further.

So last night, into this morning I decided that I would knit Baby Kimono.  I usually stay away from patterns with M1’s and yfwd’s but I’m a little more seasoned and I got over myself.  I first learned of this sweater on Sara’s blog someone’s post I recently read (forgive me whoever this is and shout yourself out and I’ll link you).  I thought such a beautiful job was done on it and I knew I would definitely make it.

I’m using my stash for this….Paton’s Decor in Pale Periwinkle. I did not gauge. I’m making the largest size available. I figure it will fit some baby gauge or no gauge, so I’m good with that!

I could have casted on the blanket you all voted for (oatmeal won btw) but I don’t remember where I put the yarn and plus, that’s just too many stitches to count. I’d rather cast on 29 than 40+ stitches right now.

During lunch today, I had time enough only to cast on. After work and I got home, in 2 hours the left front was complete. For me that’s pretty quick! So I’m forging ahead with this! (Yes, those are Signature needles and I love them!)

image

image

  1. Very pretty! I really enjoyed knitting that pattern. It was the first time I had ever knit a sweater sideways.

Leave a Reply

