The Knitterly Hooker

The Finisher Gets Paid The Most…

In crochet, knitting on August 21, 2013 at 9:27 pm

… And with good reason too. It’s a very time consuming, detailed oriented type of work. I mean, really! What’s the point of knitting these fabulous pieces and the finishing is a wreck? It defeats the whole purpose of making whatever you’re making because now you can’t wear it due to poor finishing. Whew! That was a lot! I’m pretty sure though that this is a historically true fact… Beginning with the fashion industry; the finishing makes it breaks a piece. It can cost you money or make you money. Being a finisher is a labor of love… It really is…

My finishing skill happens as pleasant surprises on occasion, but I think I have gotten better over the years and YouTube serves as a great refresher course … I’ve definitely had my seaming horrors. It’s nice to know though, that your friends think of you highly enough to finish their projects for them.

image

Above is the beginning of the seaming process for a friends raglan sweater. About 2 weeks ago (+) she requested me to finish the sweater. She has already started with the pieces pinned together but didn’t want the hassle. I can (and I’m sure you can also) relate. And besides, I’m sure she didn’t want this to be another UFO… She had a deadline to meet. Once the body is seamed, she will take over with the neck ribbing and embellishment. I have to say, she did a beautiful job making this sweater and sweater edges were pretty neat/smooth, and making my job a lot easier.

When she presented me with this task I was shocked but also honored. The cutest thing was when she handed me this pattern booklet from like 1970 and it was in pieces! The pages holding on for dear life! Lol We had a good laugh together and I taped it up for her.

I got to work on it starting 8/7/13 or thereabouts and at that point I’d done only one seam on one 1/2 of the body. I finished this up on 8/19/13. I swear to you, I seamed one of the shoulders like 10 times because it would not cooperate. It turned out really well, if I say so myself. She was in utter disbelief and amazement, all at the same time when I presented her with it. That made me feel good.

I didn’t get to take many pics, but she obliged my request and sent some fantastic ones!

image

image

My reward was this beautiful card (and also a sweet treat inside, part of which, I was not expecting) … So fitting for an occasion such as this! Lol I absolutely love this card! I asked where to get it so I can stock up… It’s from Walgreens but from a little while ago. I’m still going to check… Keeping hope alive! Do you know all have ideas of where to get cute knitting related note cards such as this? Do tell.

image

Let me know if I’m a decent enough finisher or if I need more work on my skills. How do you all do with finishing?

  1. Looks to me like you are an excellent finisher! Great job lining up all the purl rows.

  2. Finishing is really just a necessary evil for me. I wish I had the knack for it you do!

Leave a Reply

