The Knitterly Hooker

One UFO down…

In finished projects, knitting, portfolio on July 25, 2013 at 9:37 pm

image

I don’t know about you, but I really don’t like having unfinished objects just hanging around. It’s eating valuable yarn stash space, and I just can’t have that! But I’m sure like me, you have several! I’m making a diligent effort to getting that almost double digit amount down.

I decided to start here. It’s been laying around for a good 4 months. Here’s the back story….

Back in January of this year, I entered a contest that Knitting Fever held on Facebook and I won! I actually won! Yipee! I’m still excited because I don’t typically win ANYTHING!

What I won was the Ella Rae Booklet 120 Lace Merino Chunky. Looking through the book, I was just beaming; grinning from ear to ear, because everything is so beautiful and so practical. What I need to knit must not only be cute, but also practical. This fits the bill.

Imagine…It’s the dead of winter. It’s cold. And I had been rocking scalp all winter! My head was exposed and I’m surprised I didn’t get sick.

I have big hair. Really BIG, curly, afro hair and I needed a hat. No hats I have seen in stores come even close to satisfying my need. I have been looking on Ravelry also for slouch hats, and found a few, but I wanted something quick aka bulky yarn. And to be truthful, some weren’t me.

Of course, I went to my LYS, La Casita, and I bought Malabrigo Chunky in Verde Esperenza. This was actually meant for another hat I thought might work, but ultimately, did not. So I had to use it right? So by default, I guess, back to the simple project from Ella Rae.

I started this project and in the same day, in a matter of hours, the skein was done. I had no more and my darling shop had no more. So I scoured near and far and I finally found it at, of course- Eat, Sleep, Knit (I swear they have everything I need at all times! I love them!) You guys saw the order I placed the other day. It was for this hat. I noticed that the dye lots weren’t the same, but I didn’t worry about that. It would still work regardless.

image

It was only yesterday, I worked up the nerve to break out my swift and cake that skein. It.was.a.disaster! You hear me? Utter disaster. It kept coming off the swift and becoming a big tangled mess! I ended up winding it by hand. I brought it to work today and I cranked out the final few rows I needed to complete this UFO. I had some minor set backs, but it was corrected and hat complete in my apartment.

Working with Malabrigo Chunky was like a dream! OMG! So soft and sqooshy! Although it had some variagated qualities to it, it did not pool. It’s really the first time I’ve used such a luxurious yarn. I always touch them and I know how they feel, but to work with it is a whole other experience. I love it! Where had this yarn been all my life!?!?! That’s the snobbery rearing its head! Sorry! LOL

Here’s the completed hat that I have decided to name … b r o o k l y n .

image

  1. Fab. No cold head this year.

Leave a Reply

