The Knitterly Hooker

Hookin’ and Lovin’ It!

In crochet on July 16, 2013 at 10:45 pm

image

I gotta say, coming back to crocheting wasn’t as hard as I anticipated it to be.  It was just like riding a bike! Once I got that hook in my hand, it’s like it was never out! It was mindless for me.

The pattern for the Turtle Love blanket, was well written, very easy to follow and easy to memorize(that is to say, muscle memory).  At first, doing the magic circle was a bit clumsy, but I soon found my way. I found it to be as soothing as knitting, but in a different way. It’s hard to explain, but it was a good feeling. I really was not expecting to fly through these granny squares so quickly. I mean I know it was only 5 of them do but I was done super duper fast.  As I was crocheting, I felt my groove coming back and I wondered why I really stopped and I think it just had to do with the fact that there are like a trillion stitches you have to remember (plus the carpal tunnel).

I feel that knitting has made me a stronger crocheter and let me tell you why… I was super fast, I was efficient and I was able to memorize the pattern repeat per row (something I had trouble with before if I didn’t use my ticking method). I started this project last night (7.15.13).  I bought yarn on Sunday, but I ended up finding yarn in my stash, so of course I will be going back for a refund….maybe. The only reason why I’m saying “maybe” is because I can maybe make a sweater, booties and hat to make a set.  We’ll see. I’ll let you know what I decided. You do hear me talking myself into more yarn right? SMH.

With this being a good return; an all in all good comeback, I’m thinking that I’ll try to fit some more crocheting in my repertoire. There are still ends to weave in on the granny squares and they have to be,of course, joined. I am thrilled, in fact, I am ecstatic about my reconnection to crocheting and in such a big way!

image

image

  1. Would a mixture of knitting and crochet help ease the carpol tunnel or do they both use the same affected area? i love being able to swap between the two.

    • I think the thing with crochet is that you’re using the same hand, the same muscle all the time. With knitting it seems to me that the strain or weight is equally distributed. When I was crocheting consistently, every few weeks I would have to stop due to the pain. I’ve been knitting non stop almost 3 years straight and maybe 1 issue during that time. I think the carpal tunnel also has to do with how the hooks and needles are being held. But there are exercises that address and can prevent this issue. I think I will follow suit and crochet at least quarterly just for a change of pace. I’d love to see what you’ve been working on!

    • For years I’ve mostly crocheted but am now re-teaching myself knitting, and I find the muscles used are different. Knitting seems to make my hands tired, whereas crochet affects my wrists and forearms more. I’ve also found with crochet that I naturally switch back and forth between moving the hook around the yarn (more motion with the right hand) and moving the yarn around the hook (more motion with the left hand). So yes, I think going back and forth may help a little, at least the way I hold my hooks/needles/yarn, etc… but YMMV 🙂

Leave a Reply

