The Knitterly Hooker

Project hopping

In knitting on July 3, 2013 at 12:00 am

I’m a hopper. I like to hop.  I go up and down and all around all day.  Everyday. My mind takes me from project to project which leads to me down a path plentiful in ideas and inspiration, but also a feeling of being overwhelmed. A part of my hopping has to do with yarn selection.  There are so many luscious yarns out there..some I’ve tried and plenty I haven’t and I want to. What is it with us fiber fanatics anyway, having multiple projects? Is it boredom? Is it excitement of a new yarn to feel and explore?  Is it about challenging ourselves with new techniques? Or is it fear of  a technique (for me, this is grafting)? Or is the bottom line that we are not loving what we’re making so we’re not motivated anymore and want to start anew?  In these last few months, although I have been tempted, my urge to buy yarn and start a new project has not defeated me.  I’ve stuck to my stash and I’ve stuck to this one project.

image

I’m working on a beautiful couture tee, I’ve named Zolotoi (Diana by Rowan Studio 21).  The first project in a while that’s actually mine.  I’m content with what’s on my needles. I’m enjoying the process.  I’m enjoying the yarn. I’m enjoying the simplicity. I don’t mind all the ideas but I want to make better project choices and be happy. I’m hoping to not hop so much…All the hopping is giving me a headache.  Ha!

Leave a Reply

