The Knitterly Hooker

Event: Rowan Spring Fashion Show

In knitting on June 18, 2013 at 11:33 pm

image

La Casita Yarn Shop Cafe hosted an event to celebrate Rowan’s fashions yesterday evening. Many people were in attendance, including Vogue Knitting VP Editorial Director Trisha Malcolm and a couple up and coming designers. If you have not yet experienced a fashion show or trunk show, you should. It can change your ideas about sizing,fiber selection and you witness first hand, the drape and true nature of the piece. Seeing and feeling the garment can make all the difference.

I had previously looked at Rowan book 53 and I cannot say that I was impressed. Mind you, I’m not saying that they were ugly, but simply not practical for me and my style ( I adore the Rowan Studio books). But last night I must say, I was impressed with the wearability of the intarsia oversized tee;it was easily my favorite piece. The models breathed life into each garment they wore and it was stunning!

image

Goodie bags were distributed at the end and the content was the most sumptuous and spongy yarn ever… Rowan Lima and 2 balls at that! Furthermore, a pattern was included, and for me, took the pressure off to figure out what to make with this new acquisition.

Leave a Reply

